Hawaii Car Insurance Requirements
Car Insurance Liability Requirements in Hawaii
Minimum Liability Limits in HI: 20/40/10 [ 4]
20 Required coverage up to $20,000 for one individual injured in an accident
40 Required coverage up to $40,000 for all persons injured in an accident
10 Required coverage up to $10,000 for property damage in an accident
Note: These amounts are the minimum required by the law. Drivers may opt to purchase auto insurance above the mandatory minimums.
Required Car Insurance Coverage in Hawaii
Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in HI [ 4]
Bodily injury liability coverage Property damage liability coverage Personal injury protection coverage Car Insurance Verification Laws in Hawaii
Insurer Verification of Auto Insurance in HI [ 4]
Insurer must notify Department of Motor Vehicles or other state agency of cancellation or nonrenewal.
Car Insurance Quotes for Hawaii Drivers
Hawaii Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws
Hawaii Car Insurance Facts
Average Car Insurance Rates in HI
Hawaii had the 19th highest auto insurance rates in the nation in 2010.
[ 2] Rates in HI ranked 19th in the nation in 2009.
[ 2] In 2008, HI had the 18th highest rates in the country.
Number of Auto Insurance Policies in HI
Hawaii ranked 42nd in the nation in auto insurance policies in 2011 with a total of 827,821.
Uninsured Motorist Rate in HI
The uninsured motorist rate in HI ranked 32nd in the nation in 2009.
Hawaii Distracted Driving Laws
Hand-held phone ban? Yes hand-held phone ban in place for all drivers. [ 7]
Texting-while-driving ban? Yes Texting-while-driving ban in place for all drivers. [ 7]
Young drivers cell phone ban? Yes Ban applies to drivers younger than 18. [ 7]
Bus driver cell phone ban? No
Enforcement of laws:
Primary enforcement in effect.
[ 7] With primary enforcement, a police officer can pull over a driver for that specific offense.
Under a primary law, a police officer can stop a driver for that specific offense. Under a secondary law, an officer must stop a driver for a primary offense before ticketing for the secondary offense.
Hawaii Automotive Laws
Safety Belt Laws in HI
Safety belt laws have been in place since 1985 and apply to drivers/passengers 8+ years in all seats.
[ 7] Child restraint law in place for 3 years and younger in a child safety seat; 4 - 7 years must be in a booster seat or child restraint.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in HI
Motorcycle helmets required for 17 and younger.
Driver's License Renewal Cycle in HI
Renewal cycle: 8 years
Hawaii Auto & Driver Facts
Hawaii Automotive Facts
Speed Limits in HI
Rural interstates: 60 mph
[ 7] Urban interstates: 60 mph
[ 7] Other roads: 45 mph
Motor Fuel Consumption in HI
Hawaii cities collectively ranked 46th in the nation in total motor fuel consumption in 2011.
Hawaii Licensed Drivers
Licensed Drivers in HI [ 10]
Total Drivers: 911,660
HI has the 42nd most drivers in the U.S.
Minimum Driving Age in HI [ 5]
Hawaii has a minimum driving age of 15 years, 6 months.
Hawaii Auto Registrations
Auto Registrations in HI [ 8]
Registered Cars: 534,815
Registered Trucks: 580,398
Registered Motorcycles: 30,498
Total Registrations: 1,148,041
Rank: Hawaii ranked 43rd in the United States in total auto registrations in 2011.
Hawaii Age Breakdown
In Hawaii, 76% residents are 20 and older, while 5% are under the age of 5 and 19% are between ages 5 and 19.
Hawaii Demographic Information
Hawaii Race Breakdown [ 6]
Caucasian descent: 30.6%
African American descent: 1.28%
Hispanic descent: 8.3%
Asian descent: 59.74%
Native American descent: 0.08%
Hawaii Education Breakdown [ 6]
High school diploma or higher: 85%
Bachelor's degree or higher: 25%
Hawaii Income Breakdown
In Hawaii, the median household income is $71,707, while 11% of state households are below the poverty level.
Additional information about Hawaii
Hawaii has a population of approximately 1,360,301, which ranks 40th in the U.S. among all states.
More about Hawaii auto insurance
For more information about auto insurance in HI, or for additional resources regarding
Hawaii car insurance, visit the Hawaii Department of Insurance.
Did you know?
Under primary laws, an officer can ticket a driver for the offense (such as texting) without another traffic violation occurring.
1. ^ Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (AIPSO)
2. ^ National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
3. ^ Insurance Research Council (IRC)
4. ^ Insurance Information Institute (III)
5. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
6. ^ United States Census Bureau
7. ^ IIHS & Highway Loss Data Institute
8. ^ Office of Highway Policy Information
9. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
10. ^ Federal Highway Administration