Louisiana Car Insurance Requirements
Car Insurance Liability Requirements in Louisiana
Minimum Liability Limits in LA: 15/30/25 [ 4]
15 Required coverage up to $15,000 for one individual injured in an accident
30 Required coverage up to $30,000 for all persons injured in an accident
25 Required coverage up to $25,000 for property damage in an accident
Note: These amounts are the minimum required by the law. Drivers may opt to purchase auto insurance above the mandatory minimums.
Required Car Insurance Coverage in Louisiana
Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in LA [ 4]
Bodily injury liability coverage Property damage liability coverage Car Insurance Verification Laws in Louisiana
Insurer Verification of Auto Insurance in LA [ 4]
Insurer must notify Department of Motor Vehicles or other state agency of cancellation or nonrenewal. Insurers must submit entire list of insurance in effect, which may be compared with registrations at a state agency. Also known as a computer data law.
Car Insurance Quotes for Louisiana Drivers
Louisiana Car Insurance Facts, Estimates & Related Laws
Louisiana Car Insurance Facts
Average Car Insurance Rates in LA
Louisiana had the 3rd highest auto insurance rates in the nation in 2010.
[ 2] Rates in LA ranked 3rd in the nation in 2009.
[ 2] In 2008, LA had the 2nd highest rates in the country.
Number of Auto Insurance Policies in LA
Louisiana ranked 26th in the nation in auto insurance policies in 2011 with a total of 2,880,946.
Uninsured Motorist Rate in LA
The uninsured motorist rate in LA ranked 27th in the nation in 2009.
Louisiana Distracted Driving Laws
Hand-held phone ban? Yes hand-held phone ban in place for all learner's permit holders, irrespective of age, and all intermediate license holders. [ 7]
Texting-while-driving ban? Yes Texting-while-driving ban in place for all drivers. [ 7]
Young drivers cell phone ban? Yes Ban applies to all novice drivers, see footnote for detail4. [ 7]
Bus driver cell phone ban? Yes Ban applies to school bus drivers. [ 7]
Enforcement of laws:
Primary enforcement in effect.
[ 7] With primary enforcement, a police officer can pull over a driver for that specific offense.
Under a primary law, a police officer can stop a driver for that specific offense. Under a secondary law, an officer must stop a driver for a primary offense before ticketing for the secondary offense.
Louisiana Automotive Laws
Safety Belt Laws in LA
Safety belt laws have been in place since 1986 and apply to drivers/passengers 13+ years in all seats.
[ 7] Child restraint law in place for younger than 1 year or less than 20 pounds in a child safety seat; 1 - 3 years or 20-39 pounds in a forward-facing child safety seat; 4 - 5 years or 40-60 pounds in a child booster seat.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in LA
Motorcycle helmets required for all riders.
Driver's License Renewal Cycle in LA
Renewal cycle: 4 years
Louisiana Auto & Driver Facts
Louisiana Automotive Facts
Speed Limits in LA
Rural interstates: 75 mph
[ 7] Urban interstates: 70 mph
[ 7] Other roads: 65 mph
Motor Fuel Consumption in LA
Louisiana cities collectively ranked 24th in the nation in total motor fuel consumption in 2011.
Louisiana Licensed Drivers
Licensed Drivers in LA [ 10]
Total Drivers: 3,186,227
LA has the 25th most drivers in the U.S.
Minimum Driving Age in LA [ 5]
Louisiana has a minimum driving age of 15 years.
Louisiana Auto Registrations
Auto Registrations in LA [ 8]
Registered Cars: 1,801,488
Registered Trucks: 2,169,221
Registered Motorcycles: 68,460
Total Registrations: 4,052,596
Rank: Louisiana ranked 23rd in the United States in total auto registrations in 2011.
Louisiana Age Breakdown
In Louisiana, 74% residents are 20 and older, while 5% are under the age of 5 and 21% are between ages 5 and 19.
Louisiana Demographic Information
Louisiana Race Breakdown [ 6]
Caucasian descent: 64.36%
African American descent: 31.6%
Hispanic descent: 2.83%
Asian descent: 0.95%
Native American descent: 0.26%
Louisiana Education Breakdown [ 6]
High school diploma or higher: 76%
Bachelor's degree or higher: 19%
Louisiana Income Breakdown
In Louisiana, the median household income is $47,653, while 19% of state households are below the poverty level.
Additional information about Louisiana
Louisiana has a population of approximately 4,533,372, which ranks 25th in the U.S. among all states.
More about Louisiana auto insurance
For more information about auto insurance in LA, or for additional resources regarding
Louisiana car insurance, visit the Louisiana Department of Insurance.
Did you know?
Across all U.S. states,
Massachusetts has the fewest uninsured drivers - approximately 4.5 percent at last measure.
1. ^ Automobile Insurance Plans Service Office (AIPSO)
2. ^ National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
3. ^ Insurance Research Council (IRC)
4. ^ Insurance Information Institute (III)
5. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
6. ^ United States Census Bureau
7. ^ IIHS & Highway Loss Data Institute
8. ^ Office of Highway Policy Information
9. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
10. ^ Federal Highway Administration